The Seven Chakras – An Overview

Table of Contents

In this post, I introduced the seven chakras, and over the past weeks, I have gone into detail about each one, providing affirmations, workouts and more to help you be sure you are addressing each of your needs.  To tie them all together, here is an overview of each of the Seven chakras. (To see the detailed posts for each of them, click the pictures.)

The Root Chakra

Sanskrit name: Muladhara, meaning root or support

Location: Between the anus and the genitals

Associated color: Red

Main Issues: Survival/Physical needs like security and shelter

Endocrine Gland: Adrenals

Body parts: Bones, skeletal structure

Astrological sign: Capricorn

Sense: Smell

The Sacral Chakra

Sanskrit name: Svadhisthana, or “sweetness”

Location: Lower abdomen, between the navel and the genitals

Associated color: Orange

Main Issues: Sexuality, emotional balance

Endocrine Gland: Ovaries/testes

Body parts: Sex organs, bladder, prostate, womb

Astrological sign: Cancer (just so happens to be my sign), Scorpio (a sign also know for its passionate tendencies.)

Sense: Taste

The 3rd Chakra

Sanskrit name: Manipura or lustrous gem

Location: Between navel and base of sternum

Associated color: Yellow

Main Issues: Personal power and self-will; self-esteem

Endocrine Gland: Pancreas

Body parts: Digestive system, muscles

Astrological sign: Aries, Leo

Sense: Sight

The 4th Chakra

Sanskrit name: Anahata or “unstruck”

Location: At the center of the chest

Associated color: Green

Main Issues: Love and relationships

Endocrine Gland: Thymus

Body parts: Heart, lungs, chest and circulation

Astrological sign: Libra, Taurus

Sense: Touch

The 5th Chakra

Sanskrit name: Vishudha or “purification”

Location: Centrally at the base of the neck

Associated color: Blue

Main Issues: Communication and self-expression

Endocrine Gland: Thyroid and parathyroid

Body parts: Mouth, throat, and ears

Astrological sign: Gemini, Virgo

Sense: Sound/hearing

The 6th Chakra

Sanskrit name: Ajna or to perceive, to know

Location: Above and between the eyebrows

Associated color: Indigo

Main Issues: Intuition, Wisdom

Endocrine Gland: Pituitary

Body parts: Eyes, and the base of the skull

Astrological sign: Sagittarious, Pisces

Sense: Sixth sense

The 7th Chakra

Sanskrit name: Sahasrara, or “Thousandfold”

Location: Top of the head or crown of the head

Associated color: Violet, gold, white

Main Issues: Spirituality, depression, confusion, sensitivity to pollutants, epilepsy, Alzheimers

Endocrine Gland: Pineal

Body parts: Upper skull, cerebral cortex, skin

Astrological sign: Aquarius

Sense: Beyond any of our known senses

5 Responses

  1. Pingback: Invert Nis

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Read Articles About:

Get Started