The fourth chakra, or heart chakra marks an interesting transition as we spiral our way up the body.  It is here that we transition from the lower half of the chakra system, which is more physical in nature, to the upper half of the system which is more mental, spiritual and emotional.

The heart chakra is a bridge between the body and the spirit.  This is where we develop unconditional love and true self-acceptance.

As a quick reference guide, I’ve listed the basic description of the the sacral chakra as well as the physical, mental and emotional ailments of each, along with healing modalities.

Heart Chakra Descriptions:

Sanskrit name: Anahata or “unstruck”

Location: At the center of the chest

Associated color: Green

Main Issues: Love and relationships

Endocrine Gland: Thymus

Body parts: Heart, lungs, chest and circulation

Astrological sign: Libra, Taurus

Sense: Touch

Heart Chakra Ailments

Physical ailments: High blood pressure, heart disease, and cancer

Emotional dysfunctions: Co-dependent, fears of mistrust and betrayal

When the heart chakra is too open, or spins too fast, we can become possesive, and begin to withhold our love as a form of punishment. We can also tend to be overly dramatic.

When the heart chakra is blocked, or sluggish, we can take pity on ourselves, fear rejection and feel unworthy to receive love.

When the heart chakra is balanced, we love unconditionally and look for a spiritual experience when making love.

How To Heal the Heart Chakra

Crystals: Rose quartz, malachite. green jaderose quartz, crystals for heart chakra

Fragrances: Rose, Bergamot, Melissa

Heart Chakra Meditations:

Self Reflection Questions for the Heart chakra:

Movement Therapy for the Heart chakra

The following video has 3 great pilates exercise, the first is the “swan dive”, the second, is a modification of the “breast stroke” and third is a “reverse plank”.  These 3 exercises can be used to bring energy back to your heart chakra.  You can do this whenever you are feeling stressed, during your warm-up in a workout, in the morning, or right before you go to bed.

2 Responses

  1. The anatomy and physiology of the heart chakra aka Anahata are associated with those of the circulatory system or cardiovascular system.

Comments are closed.